Leigh Righton, Musician, Photography

Jim Byrnes

There is something magical about being in the presence of a true storyteller. Someone who makes you want to stop everything you’re doing, pull up a chair and take in every word. While I couldn’t stop the photo shoot with Jim Byrnes altogether, I also couldn’t help myself from putting the camera down from time to time either.

Not only did I have the honour of taking portraits of this legendary blues musician, I was simultaneously gifted a solo concert, alone in my studio. I photographed him as he played and observed how seamlessly he and his guitar worked together, as if they were one. After he played and the room fell silent, I didn’t know how to respond beyond picking my jaw up off the floor. I don’t even remember what I did, I may have clapped, or said “wow” I know that whatever it was, couldn’t have done his performance any justice.

His new album is available on Black Hen Music.

Jim-Byrnes-portrait-leigh-righton-photo

Jim-Byrnes-playing-guitar-leigh-righton-photo

Standard

4 thoughts on “Jim Byrnes

  1. Vijaya says:

    Great shots Leigh!
    What an honour to be hangin’ with such a legend! The guy is such a gifted musician and has such a beautiful heart. Lucky you.

Leave a Reply

