Leigh Righton, Photography

My Process: Demetri Photo Sketch

I had someone message me about the Demetri Martin photo-doodle I posted a little while back.  He wanted to show the image to his students, which I thought was pretty cool.  So I figured, why not put together a post that shows a rough breakdown of my process for them, and post it here in case there were others who were interested as well.  I haven’t done anything like this before, so bare with me.

When I had the opportunity to photograph comedian, Demetri Martin, I had terrible lighting, terrible background, and less then a minute to get a shot.  No pressure at all!  Good light is key in photography, so it was no surprise to me that I walked away less then satisfied considering all these factors working against me.  Woe is me, I wasn’t at all happy with the photograph itself, but I loved his expression and I have a hard time calling an opportunity like that a failure.  So I thought I would try to turn it into an image I liked by getting creative.

1.  Using regular printer paper, I printed out the photograph and taped it to my window with another blank page on top to trace.  Tracing paper would have been much more ideal, but I was inspired to work with what I had.

photosketch-leigh-righton-demetri-martin-step-1

2. So here you can see my terrible photo and my terrible tracing job.

(You can also see I did a terrible job of removing the background from the photograph, but it didn’t matter)

photosketch-leigh-righton-demetri-martin-step-2

3. I took a photograph of the drawing with my pencil and eraser on top of the page and brought it into photoshop.

photosketch-leigh-righton-demetri-martin-step-3

3. Opened the original photograph of Demetri in photoshop and dropped the photo mentioned in step 2 on top.  The images didn’t match exactly because I don’t have mad tracing skillz, but I used the transform tool and dropped the opacity so I could line them up as closely as possible.

photosketch-leigh-righton-demetri-martin-step-4

4. With the sketch layer on top, I used a mask on this layer and brushed away the white page where it was covering his face.  This allowed the photograph below to show through and I could leave some of the ink in areas where I liked it.

photosketch-leigh-righton-demetri-martin-step-5

5.  Using an adjustment layer I turned it black and white.

photosketch-leigh-righton-demetri-martin-step-6

6. I went through and made a lot of minor adjustments (long and boring to explain, just personal stylizing) to bring out the contrast, brighten the eyes etc. Then I ran it thru a filter that gave the image, and particularly the paper, a texture I liked.

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

Ta-da!

If you have any questions about anything that I skimmed over, feel free to email me leighrighton@gmail.com

www.leighrighton.com

Standard

Leave a Reply

