Leigh Righton, Musician, Photography

Inspired

Yesterday I got a call from a friend who offered me tickets to the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra’s season finale.  Ever since I was a little girl I have been a fan of the symphony, this is in part thanks to my Dad who made sure my childhood was full of arts culture (he took me to plays, orchestras, galleries etc.)  While I may have visited the VSO over the years, I must admit my knowledge around specific pieces of music and their composers is not something I am familiar with at all.  So last night I learned about Stravinsky and that the final piece we heard last night, The Rite of Spring, had caused a riot 100 years ago (it also happens to be the 100th anniversary of The Rite of Spring).  It was incredible.  It was played after the intermission and this piece had me at the edge of my seat, like I was watching an action movie.  The players were mesmerizing, their intensity and the music paired together was truly breathtaking.  After the performance my friends and I left needing a place to sit, digest it all, and talk about what we had just experienced.  Obviously, even after all these years the Rite of Spring is still very powerful.

I realized just before the intermission that my friend Ariel Barnes, who I have photographed a number of times for a project he shares with Heidi Krutzen, called Couloir, was the first cellist.  This added yet another layer of connection to this experience.  I watched him in his element, how beautiful to be able to focus on someone I know personally, and then pull back to see how he was contributing to this phenomenal sound being created by an enormous group of talented musicians.

Heidi, who is a professional harpist, also plays with the VSO (although, not in this particular show) and the other half of Couloir, is also a truly inspiring woman.  She is an incredible talent and humanitarian.  With my recent travels and projects in Sri Lanka and India, I am in awe of her work and efforts abroad.  You can read about it in the article that was in the Vancouver Sun a while back.

Today I wanted to feature Colouir and express my gratitude for the ways they have inspired me, perhaps unknowingly.  I forget sometimes how lucky I am to have people in my life that are so talented, so creative, and so inspiring.  I want to make a point of sharing the inspiration I get from my friends, my family, my clients, and the things that pass through my life in general more often.

This is Colouir.

Leigh_Righton_couloir_photo

Leigh_Righton_Couloir_projector_photo

leigh_righton_instruments

 

leigh_righton_couloir_playing_photo

Standard

2 thoughts on “Inspired

Leave a Reply

